video of the day. Veyron vs. ‘Switzer’ GT-R

Well this video is pretty mindblowing.  I’m a huge fan of the immense extravagance of the Bugatti Veyron; i think it is one of the great technologic achievements in motoring——what what in the world is powering that GT-R in the video?

So i looked up what a “Switzer” GT-R is, and I have found that it is the 800hp ‘tuned’ version called the “P800”, costing between $50k-$100k to complete.   Apparently now there is a 1000hp version called the P1k as well now.

Well I suppose this is where IEDEI will start its coverage of the GT-R——I have a new appreciation for the car since sitting in one for the first time yesterday—-and I haven’t even driven it yet.

BTW—-i have no idea what is the deal with this video, is it rigged? is it real? i have no idea.

Tagged , , ,

foto of the day. coupes.

Fantastic coupes of the early to mid 70s!!

Audi 100 Coupe S

Lancia Beta Coupe

Alfa Romeo Alfetta

Tagged , ,

IEDEI @ the NY Auto Show: press day megapost!

Well yes, this was the debut of IEDEI at a major auto show—I must thank JoshD from Quattroworld for setting me up with my media pass.  Much appreciated indeed!  at IEDEI you will not get photos of ‘every car’—-instead you will just get the ones i thought were interesting!

Some observations about the cars I saw at the Auto Show today:

A) I looked at and sat in A LOT of cars today and came up with a conclusion—–I like very few of them.  I tried to only really take photos of the ones I either found interesting or appealing in some way.

B) The interior quality of most cars is quite frankly woeful.  When I sat inside of a Boss 302 Mustang, I was quite frankly amazed at how badly made the interiors really are of these cars.  I KNOW that this is not the point of them—and yes I know that none of this matters when one is aiming for lap times and stop light drag racing.  However, IEDEI looks at the whole picture for inspiration—-and if a car has such a huge glaring gap in its merit, I simply cannot be bothered to care.  After the show, i got into my Audi TT, and felt relieved to be in such a nice place!  Not to say there were not nice interiors at the show, there were (Mercedes, Audi, GT-R, etc…) but most were lacking.

C) Surprises of the day?  I sat in a Nissan GT-R for the first time in my life—–and you know what? I absolutely LOVED it.  The interior felt like a true sports car, with amazingly high quality construction, fantastic seats, and the most amazing tactile paddle shifters I have ever felt on a car—–with raw brushed metal stalks.  The car felt great to sit in—and to be honest I am compelled to take one for a test drive…soon hopefully!

D) the Kia Optima felt like an Audi—honestly the quality of their interior blew me away, and I think that Peter Schreyer (ex-Audi designer) has really upped Kia’s game when it comes to quality of product.  I don’t care for Hyundai much—–but when i took a seat in the Kia Optima, it felt like an interior that was twice the price of the car. Nice one, Kia.

E) the Scion FR-S—-stunning.

F) VW Beetle: dissappointing.  Terribly cheap and tacky interior.  Not worth the hype.

some photos:

Fiat steering wheels:

Bentley random goods!

BMW 1-series M:  just looked like a ‘modded’ 135i in person; a bit dissappointing to be honest.  The interior, like the 135i, felt cheap and nasty.  I really do like the 1-series as a car, however I think it never quite lives up to how much I want to like it.   I’m sure it will still kick ass on a track though…

BMW M3 DTM: all types of wonderful.

Audi TT-RS – naturally better looking than the 1-series M, with a much MUCH nicer interior.  Spoke with Johan De Nysschen (head of Audi Of America) about options and pricing.  I was told the car will be about $60k in the US when it is launched this Autumn.  340hp version coming to the US, not the 360hp “plus” version as rumoured.  This is the US-spec car.

the orgasm inducing Audi R8 GT: i couldn’t really get myself to leave sitting in this.  So f*cking cool it pained me to leave it—-

the stunning Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG in Gulf livery?  Not sure I understand Mercedes & Gulf colours on the same car—–however I wasn’t arguing, as it looked splendid, although a little bit puzzling for sure!

Mercedes A-Class Concept: beautiful design, flows very well.  striking concept features like the ‘inverted mesh grille’ are very cool.  Slated for the US market in 2013—-if it looks anything like this, it will be so cool to see these on the street!

Nissan GT-R: dare i say i have been developing a great appreciation for the GT-R as a technological masterpiece; today my opinion of it greatly increased after I fell in love with the interior—–it felt like i belonged there.   Yes I know it’s been around for a while, but I’ve only come to understand it. Respect.

Red Bull F1 Car it still annoys me that somehow Infiniti have blagged their way onto this car (probably by begging parent company Renault, who supply the Red Bull engines)—–however man these F1 cars are something else to see in person.  So much detail.

Scion FR-S:  This car is UNBELIEVABLY gorgeous—-so beautiful that I found myself shocked that Toyota has designed it.  It takes many cues from the Audi quattro Sport concept, as well as one of the E-tron concepts—–but holy shit if Toyota/Scion can build this and price it at $25k as a small, RWD car which is under 3000 pounds—-this car is going to be massive!  (note: this car was a mock up, with no working interior—-so i’m not holding my breath about this being the production design)

Saab Phoenix Concept – This was revealed at the Geneva Auto Show a few months back——I thought it looked like utter shit in those photos i saw of it then, BUT i will say the car looks MUCH better in person—-much lower and sleeker.  In fact, while I was taking these photos, another person and I were having a conversation about how this car looks like crap in the camera, but much better in person—-very strange!  Even still, it is NOT a pretty design, but I will say it is interesting.  Yes, the rear lights look like a 90s Firebird, as my friend from Automobiliac.com mentioned…and next to the car in this photo is the designer Jason Castriota.

Volkswagen Golf R/”R20″– really liked the interior touches for this special edition AWD continuation of the Golf R series.  Looked nice and aggressive in its classic R shade of blue as well!

Porsche GT3-R Hybrid – self explanatory cool, even as a hybrid!

I found myself accidentally in front of a Shelby GTS unveiling—–but the car bored me (looks like every other bloody Shelby tuned Mustang!), and the annoying automotive journalists irritated me even more.  I have to say that auto journalists kinda suck—–pushy, a little impatient, and they take way too many photos of anything with wheels….as if they will never see it again if they don’t…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto (s) of the day. R18!

The Audi R18  TDI is simply stunning—-the most striking race car i’ve seen in many, many years.  I will be proud to be supporting Audi during the next Le Mans!  Here it is in its full Audi Sport livery.  All 3 cars! 1, 2, and 3.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

A110 of the day.

From the special IEDEI Alpine A110 foto archives.

Henry Giraglia & his Alpine A110 in 1975




Tagged , , ,

foto of the day. 131.

Fiat 131 Abarth, to be exact!

Tagged ,

alfa romeo junior z.

yes i love the Alfa Romeo Junior Z—–i know lots of people don’t like it, and i’ve had conversations with Alfisti who discredit its weird Zagato roots and shape—-however I find it to be quite unique, and in person it is very very tiny and compact! All types of cool!   I did learn something new today though; that the Junior Z was made in 2 forms, a short tail 1300 and a ‘longer’ tail 1600.  Also on the Alfa Workshop, there is a photo of a ‘mid-engined’ variant….

The Junior Z is quickly catching up to the Montreal when it comes to my favourite post WW2 Alfa Romeos.

these archival photos taken from the Alfa Workshop  

These scans were found on the AlfaBB some time ago, and I had saved them.  I’m not sure exactly who had scanned them.

CLICK TO ENLARGE (article is in English!)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Audi A7 Papercraft.

very cool.

thanks to quattroJoy for the tip

Tagged , , , ,

Volvo Concept Universe.

I have a huge soft spot for Saab and Volvo.  I’m really glad their designs are coming back to where they belong—-after years of both companies being lost and without an identity.

I absolutely LOVE this new, hypnotic, grumpy design that Volvo has sprung onto the world at the 2011 Shanghai Auto Show.  After the superb C30, Volvo really haven’t shown anything worth getting excited about til now!  I love the minimalist front end, and the beautifully curved rear end.

There is definitely some Audi and Saab (new 9-5, specifically) design themes  going on here, especially with the 2/3 & 1/3 ratio being present on side view—-but i think Volvo can turn this into an original theme with those stunning front lights and beautifully sculpted rears.

I am guessing the next ‘S80’-replacement will adorn many of the features on this concept—-here’s hoping they keep the style and minimalist presence which makes some features of this so special.

Tagged , , , , ,

foto of the day. benzes.

a bunch of killer Mercedes-Benz race cars!

(click to enlarge)

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

a belgian RS2.

The hottest wagon ever….in my favourite colour for an RS2.  These pictures are from Simoni’s thread on the S2 Forum.

these are just so facking cool.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

unknown car of the day. Goliath GP 700 Sport.

One of the post-war cars developed in Germany, loosely based on a VW Beetle platform (correction): upon further investigation, it seems that the most recent sole survivor was discovered with an older VW chassis transplant, however the original GP 700 Sport was based on an OEM original Borgward chassis design. —–with a LOT of design similarity to the Porsche 356 (also Beetle-based), the Goliath GP 700 Sport was built with lots of aluminium, and sported a mighty 36hp.  The amount of parts that it actually shares with a VW is unclear, as it doesn’t use a rear-engined layout like the Beetle did.  Very few of these cars exist (reportedly 3 are still in existence).   Produced between 1950 and 1953, by Borgward. The car had Bosch Fuel Injection (!), front engined, front wheel drive, and a transversely mounted engine—-all revolutionary at the time and very unique.

Lots of information and photos here:

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=406656&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. Bragg & Mercer

I must admit I don’t know a whole lot about Caleb S. Bragg or Mercer, however I came across this foto in the fantastic Library Of Congress Archives on Flickr.  Apparently from a bit of research, Bragg was the fastest qualifying race car driver in this Mercer for the 1913 Indianapolis 500.  Cool foto, from a very cool archive of classic old & vintage fotos.

Tagged , , , , ,

intro: 2012 VW Beetle.

I TOLD YOU all the blogs were wrong about the styling of the 2012 Beetle….funny how people argued that was how it was going to look….

It looks much better than I ever expected.  I have never liked the Beetle—-never liked the original, never liked the ‘new’ Beetle of the late 90s.  But they seem to have really thought this out well and have properly modernized an icon.  I am sure it is going to sell like a free diamond.

more pics and info here:

http://www.vwvortex.com/artman/publish/article_2913.shtml

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

ad of the day. ur quattro

woman. ‘mobile phone’. high heels. weird airplane.  ur quattro.  all the makings of a classic vintage Audi commercial!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. RSR

I look at this Black 911 RSR on a 6SpeedOnline.com post and it occurs to me that this has to be one of THE coolest cars ever—-not just because it is a rare car in Black with silver writing–but because of the muscular stance, the legendary scary performance, and its overall presence.  Old Ferraris? screw that…..gimme an old RSR over anything with weird yellow horse logo.

Tagged , , ,

“making time”

My favourite film of all time is a brilliant English film named Withnail & I.  It is not a car-related film, but for me it is just an absolutely hilarious, clever, and fantastic film about 2 strange and interesting blokes wired on chemicals.  I have watched it far too many times…

One of my favourite scenes from this film, however, DOES involve cars—-and what a great scene it is.  I suppose it is a little bit out of context when played on its own—–but it still cracks me up in every way.

For me, this is the Alpine A110 of films. It is strange….and probably not for everybody—but a ‘must see’ in my book.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Police officer of the year!

If they could do this more, I would want MORE police on the freeway!!! Fantastic!

thanks to JoshD (QW) for sharing this

Tagged

poster of the day. A110.

I want this original poster.

Tagged , , , , , ,

how to turn a fail into a win!

this guy has some skillz and a ton of luck!

 

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Tagged , ,

window sticker of the day. 911sc

A window sticker from a 1979 Porsche 911 SC Coupe.  In case you are interested, the original price of $28,660 turns into $87,365 when adjusted for 2011 with inflation over the years.  That’s just about the price of an equivelant 911 today!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

new series: “Rookies To Racers”

Documenting the trials of young drivers looking for a chance to break it in the Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup Series.   I believe the 1st show aired on April 7th on the Discovery Channel (USA).  The trailer looks good! We need more good car-related TV programming!

Tagged , , , ,