Fast Lane Daily: Nurburgring $1000 challenge!

Interesting challenge.  Can one get to and drive the nurburgring for under $1k?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

meet the original. 1959 Porsche T7 754/1961 695 (ur 911 concept)

I was interested to find out what the original concept car of the Porsche 911 looked like; and i have found it!  It is called the T7 754 (have also seen the number 695 used).  This was the original design proposed by FA Porsche but was rejected until until the rear end was changed, as explained the video below.  The front end is unmistakedly 911, however it is very interesting to see the original rear end proposed way back in 1959.  I was not familiar with this car before today;

some more info:

“The Porsche 695, also known as the T7 prototype, is an automobile from Porsche It was a prototype made in 1961 and later became the Porsche 911. The front end is very similar to the 911, but the rear is somewhat different. The 695 was developed from the Porsche 356 by Ferdinand Alexander Porsche and has a wheel base that is 100mm longer (up to 300 mm longer in early designs). It has a top speed of 200km/h.

Designed in the late-Fifties, the 695 was intended to be a true four-seater sports car. It was with the 695 that Porsche decided upon the use of the flat-six powerplant which has been the mainstay of the 911 range ever since. However, despite the 695 having entered the test-driving and development stage, Porsche management decided against the four-seater arrangement, and demanded that the car be redesigned in traditional two-plus-two arrangement, with smaller rear seats.

The successer was badged the 901, and was unveiled in 1963 at the Frankfurt Motor Show. A year later, it was released onto the roads as the 911.”

Porsche 695 – Wikicars

a short video showing the car, with similar info:

BTW, the car is currently located inside the beautiful Porsche Museum in Stuttgart

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

BMW has ruined Mini.

Yes what you see above, is a 2-door Mini crossover which will debut next month as the Mini Paceman.  Sort of like a 2 door version of their extremely hideous Mini Countryman.  The Countryman, is like a raised SUV-like version of their Mini Clubman—-which in turn is an elongated version of their spectacularly annoying Mini Cooper.  I always loved the ‘original’ Mini since my many trips to the UK and I loved the ‘new” Mini Cooper after it was initially introduced, for about 6 months.  I convinced a friend of mine to buy one immediately; then she hit a curb in her Cooper S and totaled it! Really? totaled it by hitting a curb—-bent the frame and axle….quality.

I hate Mini interiors—-they are horribly overdone, ghastly, and awkward.  I don’t think i’ve ever felt comfortable inside of a modern Mini.  I look at the original Mini and often think how brilliant it was; and how far it has fallen under the arthritic grip of BMW.   So now we are left with Mini Cooper S cars which have 210hp and weigh 2600 pounds.  How can a mini weigh 2600 pounds?  How is that NOT a fail?  the original Mini weighed between 1400 and 1600 pounds.   The whole point of this car was to keep it LIGHT and nimble…..like Colin Chapman’s wet dream.

WHY is BMW making 3300 pound versions of Minis that are crossovers?  This is a complete WHORING of the Mini name—-an insult to the original idea and ethos of the brand.  Nice one BMW—-you f*cked up Mini!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

obsessions. gt3.

These days, i  am utterly obsessed with the 997 GT3.  To me, it is the perfect Porsche.  Of course i love ‘older’ 911s….as the simple mechanics of vintage cars appeals to me greatly; but i also live a modern lifestyle, i drive to work in NYC all the time, i drive in the winter, i drive around aimlessly for a laugh, i like technology but not too much.  I absolutely love the GT3.

i also love the line that Chris says in this video that says “I love it when people say these don’t sound as good as the air-cooled cars, cos that is utter shit! this sounds wonderful”……BRAVO Chris…..down with the air-cooled snobs!

they’re coming down in price quickly…i see 2nd hand ones in the $80k-90k range…..996s are down in the $40-60k range.  Audi R8s are floating down to the $80k range as well……i tell you, a couple years from now….and a 997 GT3 in the $60k range, assuming all continues in my life according to plans——-WILL definitely be a frontrunner for my garage spot.

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

favourite videos.

i can never get enough of this video……the Audi IMSA cars were in a league of their own….one of the greatest race cars of our lifetime.  Nothing sounds like a 5 Cylinder 720hp engine. Amazing.  I love the fact that Audi came to the USA and kicked the crap out of everything on the track for the IMSA league, and then left…..just brilliant.

Tagged , , ,

foto of the day. urquattro

with fat 5 (TT) wheels? never seen that before…WANT.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

video of the day. 1962 Spa Francorchamps. Lucien Bianci

on board in a Ferrari! (not sure which one yet…)

Tagged , , , , ,

foto of the day. skodas in a field.

not sure if this is from an advertisement, but i’m guessing it is…..i like all the hippy little euro teenagers (adults?) chillin having a picnic, so much pleasure these Skodas brought to their eastern bloc dreams!

i like the foto.  gloomy forest, colourful 2nd rate euroboxes, and happy weird people.

Tagged , , , , ,

foto of the day. neu GT3 RS

well, not really new—-just livery and slight changes for 2011.  love this pic though.

Tagged , , , , ,

massive R8 fail.

always wanted a 4 door R8?

Tagged , ,

Mike Hawthorn + mic at chest + traffic + le Mans + D-Type = so cool.

What a sweet bizarre video!  They put a regular broadcasting mic to Hawthorn’s chest, and them set him loose in a D-type going around the Le Mans circuit with bicyclists just cruising down the track.  filmed in 1956.  Epic cool.

Tagged , , ,

foto of the day. 911s

heavily modified, out of LMP motorcars in Japan.

Tagged , , , ,

book review (erm, partial): “Gold Plated Porsche…….”

Yes I am in the midst of a Porsche phase right now. Bought this fantastic book entitled Gold Plated Porsche: How I Sank A Small Fortune Into A Used Car And Other Misadventures.  The author is journalist Stephan Wilkinson, who has worked at Car & Driver in the past, among other places.   I am calling this a “partial” review….even though i should probably call it “fractional” as I am only on pp. 50! ha.  But i think the book is definitely worth picking up.  Wilkinson’s banter about cars, the culture of petrolheads, and how he selected his 911 has already paid the measly $10 i paid for the softcover.

Summary so far: he wants to restore a car…by himself…and properly restore it.  this is the story of him buying a run down old 911 SC and pouring money into it to turn it into exactly what he always wanted; HIS perfect 911.

Apparently, Mr. Wilkinson has written some other car books as well.  Will have to check them out after i finish reading this one.

Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1592287921/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=1592282563&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0NY9T0VNY14G4VFN5T1X

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Audi R18. LED sinister.

Revealed today.   Absolutely gorgeous….probably the most stunning modern race car i’ve seen since the glory days of Le Mans in the 60s and 70s……right fookin on!  Peugeot RIP!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

porsche classic restorations.

“Over 70% of all the Porsche vehicles ever built, are still on the road today”

What better place to get a 911 restored than AT Porsche.  They claim they do the work at ‘market’ prices…..very cool and a cool video.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

the funniest GT5 video…..evar!

I love GT5.  It is an incredible game.  A must own for anyone into cars.

This video absolutely cracked me up!  It is a replay of what happened to someone in the supercar challenge.

Tagged , , , , ,

RIP Lancia.

So i’ve ‘liked’ the Lancia page on Facebook, and I continously have my posts deleted by the moderator of their FB page due to the frustration i vent when they show ‘excitement’ over their new product line.  The Bologna Auto Show is currently in effect in Italy.  Lancia had a few cars ‘under wraps’ (as if they were exciting ventures into automotive excellence).

When they were uncovered, i saw this—-and briefly whispered to myself “RIP Lancia”…..they have REALLY lost the plot over there.  Oh…and if that’s not bad enough, the other cars they are showing at the Lancia area of the show are Chryslers *head in hands*

WTF is this crap!? a Lancia? OH REALLY?

http://www.lancia.com

Tagged , , , , ,

ad of the day.

the Porsche that was developed to be an Audi (Porsche 924).

Tagged , , , , ,

911. burned.

What a great set of photos by Steve Lyon.  You can find the full set of photos here on Flickr

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Moretti 125 GS

Fiat-based coupe, built by Moretti.  Found these cool brochures scanned here

this really looks like a ‘mini’ Fiat Dino.

a few more pics and more info here

Tagged , , , , ,

new obsession. Moto Guzzi?

I am not really a fan of motorcycles nor do i really know how to ride a motorcycle.  I vaguely know how to ride a scooter, and i can ride a bicycle…..but bicycles are boring, and scooters have no balls.  Although there have been may instances where I have wanted to just buy a cheap scooter and explore the city.

A few days ago I spotted a motorcycle which really got my blood running.  It was a black Moto Guzzi 850 with green and white stripes on the side of the bike.  I rarely look at the motorcycle and think “WOW!” but when i saw this one, I definitely felt like that.  It made me wanna learn how to ride a motorbike, and it made me wanna have one.

I have no knowledge of motorcycles or of Moto Guzzi motorcycles….but i’m just learning a little bit about em at the moment.   This one isn’t exactly like the one i saw, because the one i saw had green stripes, but i believe it is the same model with a different paint finish.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,