lesser known car of the day: Isuzu Bellett GT/GTR

i love finding cool older cars which I am not familiar with….which i really start digging.  The as-posted-the-other-day Isuzu 117 Coupe is one of those cars; and here is another one by the obscure, underdog, and defunct japanese carmaker Isuzu.  Isuzu still makes commercial trucks, engines, and transport materials; however they stopped making cars in the past decade.

I have a soft spot for 60s Japanese cars, especially built by underdog companies like Isuzu; because i feel it represents a time in the japanese automotive industry where they had passion for what they were trying to make.  Sure they were copying the italian style of the 60s (Alfa, Lancia, Fiat….) however those cars were cool; so they were in turn copying cool cars, but with their own japanese twist which made for some very cool, small coupes and sedans.  The perfect example of this is the Isuzu Bellett GT and GTR Coupe.  I have to say that i really love the chunky round shape of this coupe; it is very unique even for its time.  I love the light curve on the roofline.  I’ve never seen one in person, but i hope to.  I found a few used i Japan, and they sell for between $20-30k now.

“The GT-R, more specifically GT Type-R (for “racing”), was a racing version of the GT, also available to individual customers. First presented in September 1969, the GT-R featured a 1.6 L DOHC engine from the 117 Coupe, power brakes and numerous other modifications. It was visually different from other Belletts primarily by a specific paint scheme, which included a completely black hood. The GT-R achieved many successes in racing, and has gained its own fan community. Only about 1,400 GT-Rs were manufactured.

Though the GT-R was one of the first cars to be called “GT-R”, the Nissan Skyline GT-R was in fact earlier, with the PGC10 GT-R being released six months beforehand, in March 1969. The Holden Torana GTR was released in October 1969. However, there was a Bridgestone GTR motorbike which predates all of these. It is also worth noting that Isuzu used the Type-R designation long before Honda adopted it.” (WP)

short video footage:

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

ad of the day. Fiat 124.

gotta love the cryptic pseudo-“Italian Job” stunts, in a boxy 124.

Tagged , , , , ,

foto of the day. A6G

1954 Maserati A6G 2000 Coupe. All types of lovely.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

oh…

no……

Tagged , , , ,

2011 NAIAS: Mopar Fiat 500

This is the actual Mopar detailed Fiat 500! Very cool.  Needs lowering though!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

beautiful 1985 ur quattro coupe for sale.

my love for the ur quattro is growing by the week (especially since i’ve been racing a modded one on GT5 these days!)…it has now become one of my automotive holy grails (if it wasn’t already), and much MUCH more affordable than my ultimate holy grail which is the Alpine A110 ($50k+ now easily).

here’s a beautiful one for sale in Connecticut.  Just posted today—so if you really want a place in the IEDEI envy books plop down the cash, kids! Gorgeous in every way

he’s asking $16,500 for the car.  102k miles.  a very fine example. Finished in “amazon blue”, one of 73 cars in this colour from that year. If you are interested, email me iedeiblog@gmail.com for more information.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. delta integrale rally.

i love old, dusty, authentic photos like this.

Lancia Delta Integrale

Tagged , , ,

one-off Ferrari Enzo prototype

A) i don’t really care for Ferraris (you will almost never see any Ferraris on this blog….)

B) i don’t like ‘investor’ automobiles.

but this one-off Ferrari Enzo prototype is pretty damn interesting.   It’s a 348/355 stuffed to the extreme with all sorts of stuff.  It sort of looks like it is going to explode.  Apparently this car is for sale, on a cryptic listing shown on the Modena Motorsports website.  Sure it is as ugly as an dead alligator’s wrinkled testicle…..however i find prototypes like this one a bit interesting, somehow.

(thanks to Arman for the link!)

original link on GTS Spirit:

http://www.gtspirit.com/2010/12/30/for-sale-ferraris-enzo-prototype/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+GTspirit+(GTspirit)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Artist of the day: Xander Walker

Xander Walker (http://strassenversion.blogspot.com) is someone I have known for a while through The Auto Union community.  A few weeks ago, a bunch of us met up for a dinner in Manhattan, and Xander introduced us to his fantastic artwork.  I was blown away by the uniqueness and individualistic style of these paintings; and I can firmly say that they are WELL worth the humble $15 to $30 asking price he has put up for the pieces.  Each one is hand signed, and perfect for framing.  Speaking of which, I need to find time to get to a framing shop to buy a suitable frame for the 2 paintings I own by him.  Each painting is hand finished and limited edition.   Each piece is 24 x 17″ and packaged well!

In addition to the Alpine A110 pictured above (which obviously i DO have!!), here are some others available from Xander’s Etsy store:

ENTER “IEDEI” to get 20% off at the checkout! —Thanks Xander

http://www.etsy.com/shop/strassenversion

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Motorvision.de on the Alpine A110 & Carrera RSR

 

2 great reviews with lots of nice driving footage.  I may be a Bavarian Druglord, but i can’t understand german!

 

Tagged , , , ,

the most beautiful car america never produced…

the AMC AMX 3 concept was in a series of AMC concept cars for their next generation sports car.  Bodied and shelled in Italy by Bizzarrini, however only 5 cars made it through production (with #6 produced afterwards from spare parts) due to high costs and lack of demand for a premium sports car built by AMC.  I can’t help but think that this could have been MUCH cooler than the Corvette had it been produced.  This could have been THE definitive american supercar——-well, assuming AMC wouldn’t have folded several years later under the buckling pressure of a poor company.

Comments from Richard Teague, designer of the AMX during his time at AMC: read the rest of this interview here

That’s what killed the program. The bumper standards were just happening… and soft bumpers were being tested on taxicabs in New York by GM at about this time. The technology really wasn’t there to put soft bumpers on the AMX/3 though Pantera made an effort to meet the standards and it did. But it kind of spoiled the front of that car. We just decided the effort involved in all these forthcoming standards… was just too much [on top of] the hassle of trying to get a bodybuilder that could make it at a price that we could sell it for that would be realistic. So all of those things… added up to the program being shelved. But it was a very serious program for a very long time. We tried very hard to make it happen. And we built six prototypes, really. We had a lot of money in the program, not a lot by today’s standards, but for a little company that was trying to make a mark it was, I think, a pretty good effort. At least all six of the cars survive.”


 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. RS2.

Yes, currently banned for importation into the US—–however I am holding my breath for the 25 year classics rule.  One of my all-time favourites, the legendary Audi RS2.


Tagged , , , , ,

enchanting.

i like ‘rawer’ footage like this, because it outlines the bumps and uneven surfaces of race tracks better.  this video features the absolutely lovely B5 RS4 Avant.  Normally i’d prefer the sound of exhausts, but i dig music like this—-adds a cinematic quality to the evaluation of the surfaces of the Nurburgring.

 

Tagged , , ,

SNOW!

(thanks to Elyse Sewell for sharing this glorious photo with me, not sure where it was taken…)

Well it snowed like we were at war with the sky over the weekend here in NYC.   I learned several things during this snowstorm.

A) People in NYC have no idea how to drive through snow.  Having grown up in Michigan and then lived 3 years in Chicago taught me very well how to drive during a snowstorm.  People here have extreme difficulty in judging whether their car can clear certain ‘mounds’ of snow.  On the corner of our street in Brooklyn…..There were 10s of cars stuck over a period of just a few hours.  Some cars in Brooklyn REMAIN stuck even now…..

B) I drive a very low to the ground modified with a stiff suspension, 18 inch lightweight wheels, and on all-seasons.  my TT quattro had absolutely no trouble handling the snow in any way.  There wasn’t a single time i felt unstable or unable to clear any snowbanks.  Most of you know I am a major Audihead….and this is why.  These cars are unstoppable by weather.  While other people stay parked during inclement storms, Audis come ALIVE!  It was great to see people with looks of disbelief as i passed their stuck SUVs and trucks in my low black coupe…..i even heard “what the hell is that thing!?”.

C) NYC was not prepared at all for this storm…..and their lack of proper cleanup is basically simple negligence and/or a mixture of holiday relaxation combined with unexpected ‘large’ storm status.  There are still major streets in our area which are unplowed, and have now turned into ice.  Unacceptable!

D) NYC people are tough.  Much tougher than others.  i saw plenty of people walking around, trudging through large stacks of knee high or even thigh high snow. In other cities, you’d see people sitting on their couch eating chips and watching TV.   There were people stuck 6 hours on the A train going through Queens without heat or food on Monday morning….i’m guessing these people took the subway again today to work.

E) I need boots.  No i’ve never worn boots….even in Detroit or Chicago i never did…but i also never had to walk so much as i do here…and my lack of boots means that the dude you see slipping and sliding all over the sidewalk is probably me trying to regain my balance.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. cool or too much?

Yes i am in the midst of loving 911s.  Especially 997s and 60s/70s models.  This attempts to join those two worlds…..unclear whether i support this or not, however i am enjoying the photo of a 997 with Martini livery!

It is a modified 997 Turbo called “EVT700” and here’s where you can read the article in GTPorsche about the car…

http://www.evomsit.com/MAG_GT_March_09.htm

Tagged , , , ,

a question…

which weirdo french photographer forgot to remove the can of something (cleaner? paint?) from the lower aspect of this promo photo for the glorious (err…no) Renault Fuego Turbo? Le incompetence!

I still remember how much AMC/Renault hyped this car when it was introduced into the US market.  I was a little kid, and remember thinking it was great—–however as i grew older, things changed….

Tagged , , ,

foto of the day. 117.

One of the lesser known and more cool 60s and 70s japanese cars; the Giugaro penned Isuzu 117 Coupe. It had a long production run, however not really sold outside of Japan; hence why it’s super rare to see one here.

I have to admit, I only became aware of this car after playing Gran Turismo!

a nice bit of writing about the history of the 117 here, although I cannot get the pictures to load.

http://japanesenostalgiccar.com/blog/2007/12/04/isuzu-117-coupe-jdm-italian-supermodel/

Tagged , ,

weird of the day. NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!


I got this monstrosity of a photoshop from a blog known as Fiat Returns To America

To my friends over at that blog (nice blog, by the way), I think you have the right intent, and i applaud your appeal to resurrect the Alfa Romeo Montreal nameplate; HOWEVER good god not on a Challenger body!  Have you guys seen the size of a Challenger?  It is monstrous large….have you seen a Montreal in real life? it’s pretty damn small.

i do thank you for the entertainment!  It would be great to see an Alfa Montreal resurrected….just not this!

Tagged , , , , ,

weird of the day.

A one-off  or a urquattro wagon (i would rather call it a “shooting brake”) made by Guenther Artz in the 80s.  A bit more info here:

http://www.audistory.24max.de/old1/ecaurq.htm

 

Tagged , , , , ,