IEDEI vs. Toyota Prius (Round 2): extincting rare metals.

Toyota-Prius

My quest to reduce the popularity of the Toyota Prius continues.  Hybrids are not without harm, in fact they cause their OWN sort of damage.  Here is further evidence, as the manufacturing of Hybrid cars such as the Toyota Prion…err…Prius is leading to depletion of rare, earch metals.  In their mad scramble for these metals required for the manufacturing of their cars, companies like Toyota are simply walking over and/or stepping over whatever or whomever it takes to keep their piece of the pie.

Hybrid FAIL….again.

http://www.smartplanet.com/business/blog/smart-takes/eco-friendly-hybrid-cars-push-rare-metals-toward-extinction/612

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

click on foto 2 times to get hi-res version.

vintage_bmw

Tagged , , , , , ,

Audi E-Tron Concept = 3rd Generation TT/R4?

So if you look at the pictures of the new Audi E-Tron concept, the car looks MUCH smaller than an R8.  It’s been described by some media as ‘wider and shorter than a Boxster”.  So is this the much rumoured debut of the Audi R4?

IT SEEMS LIKE IT IS!


audi_r4_TT_1

audi_r4_TT_2

Photos: Left Lane News

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Introducing: the Bugatti 16c Galbier

Finally, we have a glimpse of the newest, over-the-top amazing Bugatti.

8 tail pipes, a split-opening hood, insane chrome bodywork, a split line in the front windshield, a swooping rear end reminiscent of an old Bugatti Atlantic, Veyron-esque styling cues, Bentley-like size, and an insanely evil front headlight which reminds me of that weird old horror film The Car.

As usual with Bugatti—-it is completely insane. 800hp insane.  It’s got a W16 (similar to the one in the Veyron, but detuned) under the hood.  I’m assuming it is AWD.  Just take a bloody look at it will yer!! And watch the VIDEO at the end.

Here are the special ‘refinished” IEDEI photos of the new Bugatti 16c Galibier:

bugatti-16c-galibier-1

bugatti-16c-galibier-2

bugatti-galibier-16c-3

bugatti-16c-galibier-interior

VIDEO!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Mercedes-Benz and AMG launch SLS Configurator…

MB_SLS_Configurator

It’s not exactly a sophisticated configurator, it seems more likely to be for something playful like a Mini or something—however, it does show which colours will be offered on the SLS AMG Gullwing.

Check it out!

www.mercedes-amg.com/#/sls

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

the superb 1966 Toyota 2000GT

Toyota_2000GT

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

IEDEI vs. Toyota Prius (Round 1)

toyota_prius

I’m really hoping some of you reach this blog, while researching information about the Toyota Prius.  If you were googling for reliability, pricing, consumer reviews, problems, troubleshooting, whatever.

Let’s start by stating the obvious; the Toyota Prius is a TERRIBLE TERRIBLE car.  It is SLOW, it is severely UGLY, it handles like feces, and it quite simply lacks any character.  The car is all hype, and for the several thousands upon thousands of minions who were too dim to actually bother trying to find a proper car and instead ended up with a Prius; think about what this car says about you.

Why bother dressing in a suit to go to work in a Prius?  You’ve already told the world you don’t give a crap what you look like; which is exactly why you’ve rolled into the work parking lot driving a misproportioned wedge.

tdi_logo

You wanted economy……OHHHHHHH.  So why have you not picked up a hugely efficient new Diesel which runs clean without spilling Nickel into the environment like the cancerous Prius seems to do.  Audi, VW, and BMW are all making solid diesel cars at the moment.  You can’t afford an Audi or BMW? Fine…..then drive over to the VW dealership and get a Rabbit (Golf in 2010) or Jetta TDI.  You’ll pull a solid 40-50mpg everywhere you go—and it won’t take you 15 years to get to 60mph.  More than that though, your friends will like you a little bit more, and the grass on your lawn will STILL be growing greener than ever.

Saving a few $$$ is not worth making an ass out of yourself.  The truth of the matter is; people hate seeing a Toyota Prius in front of them on the freeway, or getting stuck behind one in the city is generally worse than getting stuck behind a bus. Occasionally, you’ll see a minion of a human driving a Prius really really really fast (which is generally 40-50mph….fast for a Prion…err..Prius) and doing all sorts of weird maneuvers trying to draw attention to their strange little car.  Sometimes I wonder if these people think they are driving a Toyota Racing Development (TRD) tuned sports car?  Do they KNOW how slow and underperforming of a car they are actually driving?

You are NOT making the world a better place by buying a Prius.   You’re just making yourself look like a twit.

If I had extra money lying around, I would buy a Prius—-to have it junked and crushed for kicks!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Mercedes-Benz introduce: SLS AMG Gullwing

I’m hearing $225,000+ and mid 3s for 0-60 for the 2011 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG Gullwing.  It’s been tested extensively on the Nurburgring, so i’m guessing it’ll have some handling behind it.  I think the styling is a bit BLAH, considering the glorious original Gullwing it is attempting to replicate the feeling of.  Obviously, this is one of those ‘modern retro’ type projects (e.g. Camaro, BMW Z8, etc…), and although it may look several times more striking in real life; the photos don’t seem to really give out the feeling of ‘classic’ just yet.  I do love the interior though…..very sharp—-even though the automatic transmission looks like crap sitting in an interior as nice as that one.

IEDEI has turned the ‘official’ SLS photos into B&W, to see if it fits the bill of ‘classic’…..download the photos in hi-res after clicking each one twice…..and then YOU decide whether it’s a classic or not!

Mercedes_Benz_SLS_Gullwing_1

Mercedes_Benz_SLS_Gullwing_2

Mercedes_Benz_SLS_Gullwing_3

Mercedes_Benz_SLS_Gullwing_Interior

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

best watch for under $100?

My favourite watchmaker is definitely Tag Heuer.  I love my Monza very much so.  However i’ve been wearing my Monza every single day for the past 3 years, and today I decided to pick up a ‘cheap’ watch for under $100, that I can use sometimes to give the Heuer a break…..i’m really picky when it comes to watches—so finding a ‘back up’ ain’t so easy.

So for a mere $50, I picked up a carbon fiber tinged Carrera Athletic Three Hand.

carrera

I’m very impressed by the amount of quality they have packed into a lower priced watch.  I think suggested retail for these watches is around $100….but if you have a look around the net, you can find em floating anywhere between $50 and $75.  I haven’t seen alot of them in person, however I gotta say that on first impression, to an outsider, this definitely looks worth MUCH more than $50.  Great stuff.

Here’s the watch I bought, followed by a link to the Carrera Time website, which has a full catalog online.

http://www.carreratime.com/en/index.htm

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

Siata 208S Coupe!

Siata 208S Coupe

Tagged , , , , , ,

Porsche releases photos of the Ltd. Edition “Sport Classic”

Porsche_911_Sport_Classic_old_carrera_rs

Obviously the people in charge of naming this ‘new’ version weren’t exactly scientists in creativity, and it ALMOST sounds like they must have fired the guy responsible for naming it the day before; thus eliminating any chance of a proper name.  Either way, Porsche have decided that there must be 250 people dumb enough to put down $250,000+ on what can basically only be described as a Carrera S with 20-25 extra HP and ‘special’ modern interpretations of the original 70s Carrera RS Fuchs wheels.

My solution? Buy a regular Carrera S for $80k.  Buy the vinyl decals for a few hundred dollars, to get you those matte stripes……chip the engine to get you an extra 20hp (or more).  Pain the car whatever colour you want, even the aviator grey-like colour this one is in.  Buy the Pseudo-Fuchs wheels aftermarket.  You’re still under $100k…and you’ll look damn good doing it.  Skip on the polished steel lip though….i’d go solid black on the wheels.

Some pics:

1_1280_800

porsche_sport_classic_rear

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

1976 Fiat 131 Abarth!

(CLICK FOTO 2 TIMES TO GET HI-RES)

Fiat-131_Abarth_Rally_1976_1600x1200_wallpaper_01

Tagged , , , , ,

VW board murders the Cayenne and Panamera…

2008_Porsche_Cayenne_ext_1 copy

porsche-panamera copy

…and simultaneously gives Porsche a big kick in the nuts.

I love Porsches, and i’ve wanted one ever since I was a kid; I guess i would be joined by MOST men in saying that Porsches are the holy grail of motoring for alot of us.  But in the last several years, the 911 has been desirable; however Porsche as a brand has become impure, commercialized, and devoid of the ‘purity’ character it used to carry.

The Cayenne has always been a royal waste of space.  It is truly a rebadged VW Touraeg, whether one wants to believe it or not.  It is also ugly as sin, driven primarily by women who don’t give a damn about driving dynamics, and was perfectly molded for a nice parking spot in front of a Starbucks to collect an afternoon latte more than actual driving…

The Panamera is a Porsche designing FAIL.  There really is no other way to look at the car.  I don’t care how fast it is, how good it is, or how much technical achievement it has…..Porsches were never made to be 4-doors (aside from special projects like the Audi-Porsche RS2 Avant)….and If Porsche recently became so keen to produce the Panamera, then they have really lost the plot.

So it seems the Cayenne and Panamera will continue until 2016, when their current run will end—-and they will both end! Discontinued!

BRAVO VW BOARD!! Maybe you will sort out Porsche by cracking them a kick in the nuts for their recent failures…..and maybe you can tell Koeniggsegg to sort out Saab while you’re at it!

SOURCE: http://www.leftlanenews.com/report-vw-board-votes-to-ax-porsche-cayenne-panamera.html

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

LANCIA DELTA S4, cut-out picture.

(click foto 2 times to get hi-res)

Lancia-Delta-S4

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

DKW Monza!

DKWMON001

Tagged , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

Lamborghini Espada getting built in the factory (1969)!

(click 2 times to see hi-res)

Lamborghini-Factory-1969-Espada

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Oh dear……BMW 850i R8?

The person who did this must have significant mental difficulties…..significant!  Unbelievable.

BMW_R8_850

BMW_R8_850-2

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

the interior of a Lamborghini Miura.  legendary.

Lamborghini_miura_04-1024.jpg

Tagged , , , , ,

car of the day. Audi RS2.

Well, i’m a self-confessed Audi person; however these days i’ve had an overwhelming fascination with the Audi RS2.  Developed with Porsche in the mid-90s, the Audi RS2 is the beginning of the entire RS brigade that Audi would further launch afterwards.

Yes, it’s a wagon—yes it was engineered by Porsche—-and yes it’s faster from 0-30 than a McLaren F1.  They never brought these to the USA, and that blows—-however word is there are a couple in the US, and a couple more that are being converted into RS2s from regular Audi 80/90.  Avants…..interesting.

A friend of mine from Norway, Espen—-recently had his RS2 stolen in Norway.  Those daft bastards—–you’re gonna get busted.

I WANT!


IMG_3575psaw

audi-rs2-b.jpg

audi-rs2-c

Audi_RS2

rs2-poster

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

70s car commercial compilations!

These are just great! So entertaining.  These are compilations of various car commercials from the 60s and 70s…….

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

foto(s) of the day.

Maserati held a small tribute for their roadsters, and here are a couple official photos from that photo shoot.

(CLICK TWO TIMES ON EACH PHOTO TO GET HI-RES)

maserati1.jpg

maserati2.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Volkswagen + Porsche = AUTO UNION?

car-logo-auto-union

Insiders are saying that the VW-Porsche merger may end up resurrecting the defunct AUTO UNION name!

I say…….BRING IT ON!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,