Tag Heuer Monza; 2011 edition!

I own one of the 2003 edition Tag Heuer Monzas, and have always lusted after the ‘older’ ones, however I have only recently learned that my Monza has much in common with the original 1933 Heuer Chronograph as originally I had been thinking that it was more like a Heuer Camaro than anything else—-I was wrong!  Very interesting.

Tag Heuer, after discontinuing my version of the Monza a few years ago—-in typical Tag Heuer fashion—has reissued the watch in a ‘new’ ode-to-1933 version.

here’s a great link to an article comparing the 2000 Tag Heuer Monza to the original 1933 Chronograph and the NEW 2011 Tag Heuer Monza

http://www.calibre11.com/2011-tag-heuer-monza/


Tagged , , , ,

Italy; observations about motoring & their cars.

IEDEI is back after a week away in Italy.  The purpose of this trip was not car-related, but as a vacation for my wife and I to get away from the busy NYC days and to check out Italy for the first time.  Firstly, we loved Italy for its superb food, beautiful historical city and landscapes, lovely people, and it’s good vibes.  I had originally planned to drive for a few days within Italy, however due to our short itinerary, we decided that using the superb Eurostar train system there seemed optimal and most efficient.  The trains are of course very comfortable, and very easy to use—and I highly recommend them to anyone traveling through Italy or the rest of western Europe.

Here are a list of some basic observations I made about motoring and cars in Italy from a passenger point of view.

1. People have very eccentric parking habits in Rome—-pretty much makes NYC parking look like a regulated, organized affair.

2. The freeways are very tame, boring affairs—-similar to freeways anywhere else, including the US.

3. I would say 95% of the cars seen parked and driving consist of small, slow, functional economy hatchbacks.

4. In 7 days in Italy, through 4 cities (Roma, Firenze, Napoli, and Capri)—- i did not see a SINGLE Maserati, Ferrari, Lamborghini, pre-1990 Alfa Romeo, pre-1990 Lancia, or pre-1990 Fiat.  I was shocked at the lack of interesting Italian cars present there.  I can honestly say that the most interesting cars I saw in Italy were a couple Alfa Romeo Breras, a bunch of fanastic Audis not readily seen in US markets(A1, S3, A3 Roadster, B8 S4 Avant, A4 Allroad), many Alfa Romeo 159s (which are much more beautiful in person than even the photos show), and ONE Alfa Romeo 147 GTA and ONE Alfa Romeo GTV (mid 90s version).

5.  I spoke with a guy who was working at a Lancia repair centre, and asked him what he thought of the ‘new’ Lancias (like the Ypsilon) and he said “Lancia has not been Lancia for many years”—to which i completely agreed with him.  When i asked him why Italians don’t drive ‘older’ Alfas and Lancias he told me “because it is not easy to drive an older Alfa or Lancia everyday in our cities, and many of the cars have broken and are gone”. I think this summed up the situation pretty well.  Sad for classic cars in Italy then…..

6. I started wanting to buy a small hatchback.  Even the absolutely terrible Lancia Ypsilon started to look alright to me after a week there—-but then i stopped drinking and remembered how rubbish it is.  The ‘newer’ Alfa Romeo Mito and Alfa Romeo Giuliettas are very cool little cars…..the Giuletta is very beautiful in person, and would love to see it make it over to the US market.  It has a lot more presence on the road than most hatchbacks its size.   The Mito is the perfect Alfa answer to the small hatchback italian solution—-however I was shocked to see that the pricing on the Mito starts at 16k Euros and goes all the way into the low 20k range.  The Audi A1 is a simply stunning example of a hatchback, beautifully proportioned, very stylish, and very well put together.

7.  My wife commented that Audis parked there looked more Italian than Italian cars there…and I have to say that probably rings true for the modern cars being sold in Italy.  Plenty of Audis there, as the Italians have picked up on the styling as well, and have bought into it.  I would say that 1 out of every 3 ‘nice’ cars seems to be an Audi.  This pleased my Audiphile tendencies, of course!

8.  Word is, that the Alfa Romeo Museum has been shut for good——at least that’s what somebody told me there.  I was not planning on visiting it on this trip anyways, however it seems that it was closed a couple of months ago for renovation, and there are no plans to re-open it—-which would be an absolute shame of course.

9. Fiats are definitely the most popular cars in Italy—–i’d say 6 to 1 over everything else.

10.  Traffic is slow, pedestrians are plenty, traffic rules are not obeyed all the time, however I found it actually less chaotic than NYC driving—-at least from a passenger seat.  The problem here in NYC is the amount of speed people carry on the roads; whereas in Italy, I didn’t seen people bustling in speed—at least not in the 4 cities I went to.

A couple random photos:

I did happen to stumble upon a ‘motoring’ channel on the Italian cable TV during our last night stay in Rome, where they showed 24 hour coverage of weird obscure motoring events around Italy—pretty cool I have to say! GTV InterMotori

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. BMWs.

BMW 503, BMW 1602, and BMW 735i @ the BMW museum.

Tagged , , , ,

IEDEI is on vacation!

Yes. no new posts til after the 23rd.  Wife and I are on our way to Italy tomorrow.   Cheers!

 

foto of the day. women of the A110.

i love this photo! so lovely.  Francois Conconi looks so cool.  The other woman, is of course, Michele Mouton.  Dunno who the bearded bloke is…ha

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

IEDEI @ the car wash.

I haven’t washed the TT in what feels like months.  It had started to look like a Jackson Pollock painting—-so today, after hours of work this weekend—i decided to take the car in for a wash.  I really don’t like washing my own car—it is a time consuming flush of an activity! So i’d much rather pay others to do it, which is exactly what I did at my local Brooklyn hand wash.  I was joined by some interesting company.

(today i realised my car is quite low…as the R8 was almost the same height)

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

lost concept: Citroen Karin

As a pure design, this car is unbelievably cool.  It takes elements of the 70s wedge shaped concepts, but adds a multi-dimensional feature to them.   Designed by Trevor Fiore, obviously the 1980 Citroen Karin Concept never made it into production—-what dissappoints me more than that, is why this geometrically active design was not more influential on the stale, boxy designs of the 80s.  This car was looking ahead—maybe too far ahead.  I do notice though, that this did the 3 passenger layout featured on the McLaren F1 later…

totally unique, and totally lost.

Tagged , ,

foto of the day. people & quattro.

what an amazing photo, documenting the insanity of those 80s WRC Group B events; where people were literally inches and feet away from the most amazing rally cars driving full-on through the crowds.  Everyone was brave; the drivers and the fans.   This is from the 1984 Portugal Rally.

(click to enlarge)

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

new BMW 6-series. It makes people…..

YAWN.

Hey BMW….bring Chris Bangle back…

Tagged , , ,

037 vs. S1 vs. Stratos

this is an audio orgasm! it makes me sad to see how we have lost this type of insanity in rally cars.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

crash!

i love this.  3 of my favourite cars, coming together.  Although from this view, it seems that the Porsche does get hit (i see debris on the ground), but really not as bad as you would think it would have been hit! Guess the A110 has got some braking power!

foto of the day. gt3.

Porsche 911 GT3 RS in my favourite colour for Porsches (aside from black)—-mexico blue!


Tagged , , , , , ,

Wheeler Dealers: Lancia Fulvia

I was hoping for a full episode about the Fulvia, but this seems to be a short summary of the Fulvia and some advice on buying one.  I’m not a huge fan of the S2 headlights on this one, i’d much prefer the Series 1—-but i have heard/read that the Series 2 had some mechanical improvements so they may be onto something.  I am staggered by how cheap these sell for on the secondhand market in the UK.  Unfortunately here in the US, since the Fulvia was never officially sold, even raggedy 1.3s have sold for around $10k.  Good ones tend to reach higher into the $12-18k bracket.  I won’t get into the gory details of an amazing one that really slipped away from my own pawing hands several months ago….

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. Japan.

As you know, a large earthquake and tsunami hit Japan on Friday.  I found this very strange photo on MSN of a huge supply parking lot for Infiniti.  Obviously I wish the best to the Japanese readers of IEDEI and everyone else there, and for a recovery from this crazy disaster.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

lost concept of the day. Porsche-VW Tapiro

An Italdesign study penned by Guigiaro in 1970.   It seems every photo I find of the strange Tapiro is accompanied by women!  So here they are in all their early 70s glory.  This car is actually based off a 914 chassis, interestingly enough.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Steve McQueen’s Porshe 911s heads to auction.

Cooler than f*ck.  Wonder how much this is going to fetch on auction.  Yes, this is the 911S from the opening scene of Le Mans and yes this is the 911s that Steve McQueen bought after filming the movie for his own collection.

http://www.leftlanenews.com/king-of-cool-steve-mcqueens-le-mans-porsche-911s-headed-to-auction.html

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

RS2 vs. M5: battle of the family hustlers.

the uber-cool Audi RS2 and the rare and desirable BMW E34 M5 Touring might be two of the most desirable avants/wagons/touring/estate cars ever made.  The RS2 (one of my top 10 most desirable cars) was hand built by Porsche.  Amazing that in a time where Audi was struggling after the whole 60-minutes-false-claim-scam-slandering; they decided to have a go with Porsche building them a specialised 5-cylinder monster.  The biggest rumour about the RS2? It has been claimed that the RS2 does 0-30 mph faster than a McLaren F1.  I’d love to see that.  The RS2 never came to the US—i have 9 years to wait til i can use the 25 year-import rule to think about bringing one over here.

The E34 M5 was a great car; in my mind the last great M5.  The E39 kinda lost the charm as far as i’m concerned, although i’m sure plenty of people reading this love the E39.  The E34 M5 Touring is an even rarer, more obscure proposition! I’ve never seen one; mainly because it was never brought to the US either.  Surely the E34 M5 meant business; as did the RS2——so which one is better?

You would think because this article was written in a magazine called BMWCar, this article would be biased—–but i have to say that I think they’ve done a remarkably fair and excellent write-up on these 2 amazing cars.  I don’t really care for wagons——but i love both of these…..albeit one more than the other.

Oh and to my 2 friends I was discussing the Cadillac CTS-V Wagon with a couple days ago—–i’ll take either of these thankyouverymuch!

CLICK TO ENLARGE THESE PAGE SCANS:


Tagged , , , , , , , ,

BMW: the (de)generations of design.

I grew up with BMW as my favourite marque; mainly because of my undying love for the E30 M3 when i was a young child.  I’m not sure why I wasn’t like other children who loved Corvettes and Porsches, because I wasn’t.  I still remember my parents buying me a radio controlled car when i was very young (9 or 10?), and I didn’t choose the red Porsche, i chose the dark grey E30 M3.  I wish i still had that radio controlled car…

Anyways, BMW is a company who i’ve watched deteriorate in charm.  They may still build very fast and potent automobiles—-but they leave me feeling numb.  The modern BMW design is stale and very non-BMW in many ways.  To be honest, the 1-series is the only BMW I am really a fan of—-and that is a great car to drive as well.

Here are 2 photos.  One of all the 5-series and one of all the 3-series.   The best ones are on the left side of the pictures.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

art of the day. A110.

this is an amazing commissioned drawing of the Alpine A110 by the superb automotive painter, Miha Furlan

Tagged , , , ,

foto of the day. C30 Polestar.

This car is badass…and nobody even knows what it is.  AWD. 400hp. 5 Cylinder turbo.

my sister has a regular C30, which I have to say—is quite an enjoyable to drive with the stock 210hp.  It is also, in my opinion, the best looking hatchback on sale in the US at the moment.    This Volvo C30 Polestar is only a concept, but it pretty much kicks absolute arse!  The big question then is—why does Volvo refuse to build it?

Tagged , , , , , , ,