foto of the day. A310.

So the Alpine A110 is the holy grail of all cars for me…..however, these days i’m starting to get interested in the A310 as well…..so once i get my A110, maybe i can get an A310 to join it in the garage?  yeah, DREAM ON, IEDEI!

Here’s a nice pic of a 1974 A310 jumping it up!

 

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

BMW: bring Bangle back!

BMW = Boring Me….oh never mind.

I like Chris Bangle.  His designs ‘sunk in’ after a while, which to me is a sign of someone who properly pushed the envelope.  I loved the BMW Z4 Coupe and i love the BMW 1-series, both designed by Mr. Bangle.  I know that he is still involved with BMW occasionally, and is also running his own company at the moment; but what i’m amazed by is just how boring the current BMW design themes have become.  Seriously…..how many versions of your E92 3-series can you make?  now you’ve made a larger one, and now you’ve made a super-larger one!  I honestly get confused when i see these on the road; sometimes i think the 5-series is a 3-series, sometimes i think the 5-series is a 7-series—-only the size prevents me from calling a 7 a 3 and vice versa…..the design is boring, they are utterly charmless….but most of all, they are COMPLETELY devoid of any challenge, art, or sense of passion.  BMW is a bored company, and it’s showing.  No wonder they’ve stretched out that last Bangle-era design (1-series) for another go as the 1-Series M Coupe—-which should be out soon….for a price of around…..$45-50k as far as i can guess.

I used to think the E60 5-series was a real ugly bastard when it first came out—-but the design grew on me, and i don’t even think it looks awkward anymore…i actually think it looks good….much better than the generic ‘new’ 5-series that just came out…

Tagged , , , , , , ,

driving tips.

cos you need them! LEARN!

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Group B Sounds.

This video, for me, is essentially an audio battle of the Lancia 037 and the Audi quattro.   The 5 cylinder glory of the Audi and the screaming italian Lancia………the popping of the 5 cylinder clinches it for me.

Volume up, people!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

art of the day. streamliner.

The superb work of Rob Ijbema, as shown on IEDEI before…..

http://car-a-day.blogspot.com/2010/09/auto-union-streamliner.html

click to enlarge

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. fulvia.

1972 Lancia Fulvia 1.6 HF. driven by Harry Kallstrom during the 1972 rally season.

click to enlarge foto.


Tagged , , , , , ,

Carrera Panamericana

La Carrera Panamericana 2010 was held October 22-28 over 3,200 kilometers and seven stages through 10 states in Mexico, with former World Rally Championship driver Harri Rovanpera taking overall honors in a Studebaker.

100s of more pics and writing about the event here:

http://www.sportscardigest.com/la-carrera-panamericana-2010-results-and-photo-gallery/

Tagged , , , ,

RS5 & urquattro.

1981 Audi urquattro and 2010 Audi RS5

What a fantastic set of pictures….here are just 4 of them.  Click on the link to read the full article, and to see the full set of 40+ photos!  beautiful photos of 2 stunning cars separated by a good 30 years.

LINK TO MORE PICS AND ARTICLE:

http://www.insideline.com/audi/rs5/2011/2011-audi-rs5-vs-1981-audi-coupe-quattro.html

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

S1 quattro.

not much compares to this…….what a beast.

Tagged , , , , , ,

car for sale of the day. flaminia.

err, so this is 20k english quid……but it’s one of the coolest Flaminias i’ve seen, in a beautiful colour.  I’m slightly perplexed by the ‘rally’ seats, as they sort of don’t suit the car……but i will forgive it!

20k pounds….what is that? $35k?  I tell you what…if i was a 55 year old businessman, surrounded by a**holes driving around in red Ferraris—-it’d be great to show up to a meeting in sometime like this.  Timeless.

go buy it: http://www.rtcc.co.uk/index.php?do=lanciaclassics&car=093f65e080a295f8076b1c5722a46aa2

Tagged , , , , , ,

foto of the day. junior z.

one of my favourite Alfas…..low-key, pretty rare, and such a cool car.

Alfa Romeo 1600 Zagato Coupe, or otherwise known as “Junior Z

photo by Sebastian Morliere

Tagged , , , ,

foto of the day. R5/A310

love this picture.  love these 2 cars.  people don’t seem to understand just HOW SMALL some of the Alpine cars were….the A110 makes the Lotus Elise look like a massive supercar……and by this pic, you can see how tiny even the larger A310 was…

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Chris Harris on the Porsche 959 and Ferrari 288 GTO

Chris Harris is cool.  I generally enjoy his reviews.  This is a cool review of 2 cars which were ‘poster’ cars of the 80s…..the 959 interesting me much more….as the poster in my wall as a kid would testify…

Part 1:

Part 2:

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

“The Story Of Gasoline” (1924, silent film)

I”m just hoping one of you has a spare 43 minutes and 17 seconds to sit through all of this….let me know what happens later!  Cool images in there though.

Tagged , , , , ,

foto of the day. Kyalami

i love this car.  so unknown….perfect car for a sniper. The Maserati Kyalami.

some history (via: http://www.maserati-alfieri.co.uk/alfieri102.htm)

“In 1974 after a period of financial turmoil, Citroën, the then owners of Maserati, placed the company into liquidation. By 1975, Maserati was in the hands of a partnership berween Alejandro DeTomaso and GEPI (an Italian state organisation whose sole purpose was the protection of Italian jobs). DeTomaso’s Longchamp had not proved the success he had hoped and sales were low. During this time of re-organisation, DeTomaso was desperate to produce a new flagship Maserati. Given Maserati’s financial restraints, his solution was to call in Pietro Frua’s design studio in Turin to re-style the Longchamp and so was born the Kyalami.”


 

Tagged , , , ,

foto of the day. 8c.

Still one of the most beautiful cars around, IMO!

Tagged , , ,

drive, Mini, drive!

 

This sort of reminds of WHY i wanted a Mini Cooper so badly during my teenage trips to London….cos they looked so tossable, and they ARE so tossable!

thanks to: Axis Of Oversteer

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. urban 917.

Porsche 917 in the city, yo!

Tagged ,

Audi mulling over building the neu quattro!

BUILD IT! put me on the list!

“Describing the new two-door as more than just a one-off show car, Stefan Reil, head of development at Audi’s Quattro Gmbh division, confirmed plans for a limited production run were fairly advanced. “We are rethinking standard processes to make it possible,” he said. “We know how to engineer it already.”

 

more info at Autocar:

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/Audi-Concepts/253226/


 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

iPad getting EVO, Octane, Top Gear magazines….

I’m a big fan of the iPad, even though i don’t own one yet.  The iPod Touch i have lost recently was one of the best little electronic devices i’ve ever owned; so versatile and useful.  I’m definitely getting an iPad, just not right now as i need a new laptop first!

The era of the ‘digital magazine’ is now upon us, and the UK magazines are coming to the iPad!

pricing @ Zinio:

EVO Magazine $4.96 ea. or subscription of 12 digital issues for $50.32
Octane Magazine $4.96 ea. or subscription of 12 digital issues for $50.32
Top Gear Magazine $5.27 per issue with no subscription available.

not a bad deal, considering that a physical subscription often runs like $90 on these imported magazines.  Plus you get to have them on your iPad for further easy access! VERY COOL! i’m sure this is just the beginning.  Still haven’t heard anything about my favourite UK car mag Car though.

original article from our friends at Fourtitude

http://forums.fourtitude.com/entry.php?262-Choice-Gear-iPad-Users-Take-Note.-British-Magazine-Invasion-on-Zinio-including-EVO-Top-Gear-and-Octane

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,