Mercedes Benz 450 SLC 5.0
(special IEDEI crop)
click to enlarge
The original AMG…..the daddy of ALL AMG cars.
“In its early years, AMG concentrated on building racing cars based on the Mercedes-Benz 300 SE sedan and competing in European touring car races. The first racing success came in 1971, when a Mercedes 300 SEL 6.3, modified by AMG with a 6.9-liter engine, took a surprise class victory in the 24-hour race at Spa in Belgium, finishing in second place overall. The 1971 success proved to be the springboard for an enviable record on the track that has continued to this day and has formed a cornerstone of the AMG philosophy (see AMG racing history at end of this section)”
thanks to Motoring Con Brio for this foto!
Found out some info on the TT-RS:
$65-68k, 300-350 cars coming to the US market, all coupes, all manual transmission (unofficial estimates, taken from a couple sources IEDEI has spoken with)
The sound of the 2.5L turbo 5 is amazing. I saw this car today at Waterfest (VW/Audi gathering in held in New Jersey every year). It was brought there by the Fourtitude guys and was provided to them by Audi. It is the only TT-RS in the USA at the moment. I didn’t get any chance to drive it or drive in it…however the exhaust note is simply animal…love it.
some more pics (sorry about the crappy quality…forgot my camera and took cell phone pics!):
Not sure where these photos are from….but here’s a Porsche 911 (997) GT3 RS with matte black finish. sinister.
(click to enlarge)
Because i want this bad. Big thanks (NOT!) to Bulgogi Brothers now known as Motoring Con Brio for raising my attention to it. Advertised on Bring A Trailer, fine purveyors of numerous temptations. Those bastards…
So lately i’ve been commuting by the NYC subway for work every morning. I gotta say that i really miss driving to work (although my previous commute from Brooklyn to Long Island was pretty UN-inspiring).
But i did see this today on my walk to the subway!
Citroen Service Van! Not sure what year or the story behind it…saw the owner get out, but didn’t get a chance to speak with him…if i see him again, i’ll be sure to ask.
I have to be honest and say that a couple of years ago, when this current Maserati Granturismo Coupe came out, i was completely underwhelmed. I thought it looked like a gigantic Mazda RX-8 built by Fiat……however SO WRONG I WAS. A few years later, it has become one of my favourite designs in all of the automotive world. There’s something about the Maseratis of the last 5-7 years which has made them age very gracefully; Coupe GT, Quattroporte, and now the Granturismo.
Anyway, i want one. bad. I could never say that about any Ferrari….
(CLICK TO ENLARGE)
yeah it’s the 1-series. I know plenty of people are going to disagree with me…..and i know that plenty of people hate the way the 1-series looks; however i have always loved the styling of it. It’s the only modern BMW that has an interesting design, aside from the strange 6-series which started to grow on me towards the end of its current life cycle.
There’s plenty of retro going on in the 1-series styling, some cues of the E30, some cues of older BMWs from the 70s liked the fabled 2002, even some NSU TT in there. One of my favourite Coupe designs since the MK1 TT, for sure.
I will have a 1-series one day! The question is when?
LOL @ Segler’s honesty…….so you like it then, man?
BMW 1-Series M….coming out in early 2011 (supposedly)….i’m hearing 340hp, losing 100-200 pounds, stiffened suspension, big brakes, all sorts of wacky modded options. The price estimate by IEDEI? $45k.
watch the video:
CLICK ON ANY OF THE PICS TO GET HI-RES
No, 1001 HP simply wasn’t enough! It is now 1200 HP, and the top speed is now officially 267 mph, which makes it THE fastest road car in the world…………..again!
It is quite simply the fastest, most outrageous, maddest, and amazing car in the world—-and it’s been reborn to be even better.
Came across this interesting “letter to lancia” on a site called Petrolblog.
http://petrolblog.com/2010/06/24/an-open-letter-to-lancia/
I gotta agree with you MajorGav, Lancia has lost the plot and really needs to get back to their identity. The stuff they have been releasing for several years is GHASTLY……and in my opinion; Lancia might be THE biggest waste of a marque i’ve witnessed….amazing how Fiat just turned that company into slop.
But i gotta remind my friends over at Petrolblog, that Lancia is now going to be shacked up very closely to Chrysler; and it seems that for the time being, the identity of Lancia will continue to be lost. A friend of mine who works in the auto industry had told me a couple years ago that there was a good chance that Lancia was going to be shut down; but now it seems they’ve found a new use for the marque Lancia. It’s going to serve as a channel to pass Chrysler products into Europe. What a shame.
It’s been said that the next generation Chrysler 300C is going to become Lancia’s flagship car in Europe….but the worst part is: there are supposedly only minimal changes done to the badges and the grille before it will be sold as a Lancia…….if that’s true, Lancia will be all but dead in my opinion…if it isn’t already. I wish VW would buy Lancia and bring it back properly……imagine a Delta Integrale based on a modified R32/R20 platform? That’d be pretty sweet.
Jaguar has been a pretty boring company for several years now, although lately it’s all been improving dramatically. One of the significant problems is the current lack of identity, however. Everytime i see a ‘new’ Jaguar sedan, it looks like a cross between an Audi A6 wannabe and a Jaguar. What happened to the identity, lads!?
Anyways, the new XK-R 75 looks pretty damn slick. 530hp, 0-60 in 4.4 seconds, limited edition to celebrate 75 years of Jaguar. Pretty interesting paint job going on as well…
I can never really decide. The design of the NSU Ro80 always leaves me feeling weird….on one side, i find its proportions to be utterly fascinating and awkward (in a good way)…..on the other side, i find it to be very dysfunctional and awkward (in a bad way).
There is no denying, however, that the Ro80 was WAY ahead when it came to design….considering it was originally launched in 1967 (wow). A very modern design….which surely influenced alot of cars after it….especially AUDI, the company that some of NSU warped into…
Bring A Trailer….today i saw this stunning Toyota 2000GT for sale on there. Price? $375,000. All types of hotness….and very rare to see for sale in the US.
http://bringatrailer.com/2010/06/21/bat-exclusive-preserved-1967-toyota-2000gt/
found a box of cars while packing for a move…anyone wanna take guesses on the identify of these cars?
Monsieur Peugeot must be pissed! Audi delivered their TDI power reliably, taking on an defeating Peugeot on their home turf. Audi is now tied with Ferrari for all time wins there, with Porsche leading everybody.
Audi USA have a flickr photostream going on with 100s of photos of the Le Mans weekend. Here are some of my favourites of the R15 TDI. See the rest at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/audiusa
a proud day to be an Audiphile as I am.
CLICK TO ENLARGE