Peugeot 504 Rally Version. fantastic.
i dig these….designed after the paintings by artist Nicolas Hunziger. $25 a shirt.
http://www.a2zracergear.com/mens-jackets-shoes-caps-and-shirts/Pre-Shrunk-Cotton-T-Shirt.html
(via http://www.motorsportretro.com/2010/04/nicolas-hunziker-apparel )
IEDEI are not really suckers for ‘luxurious’ interiors, however this one takes some sort of cake, bakes it, devours it, and bakes another one. Pretty fantastic for that Eastern European Dictator in your family….the 2011 Audi A8L
look, there’s even an ottoman for the passenger to put their feet up!
Yet another glorious video of a Lancia Fulvia 1.6 HF. There’s nothing like the rumble of that fantastic V4. Nice bit of driving on a pretty funky road, as well. The IEDEI obsession with this car continues….
I gotta say, i’m excited to see what SAAB comes up with in the next few years. I always loved SAAB as a company, but found GM to be a corrupting party in their uniqueness and product line. Here’s to hoping SPYKER brings some fun back to the brand.
The rumour is that the original SAAB 99 is the inspiration behind a new working concept under the working name “92” or”9-2″
About a year ago, IEDEI had ranted about SAAB and it’s lack of current identity.
It is starting to look more and more that SAAB may find it again!
some renderings/possibilities that have been circulating:
Ron Dennis has always been a whining dork, from the days of the McLaren F1 team and his constant denial and complaining about rules, races, and results. Alright, so i don’t care if Ron Dennis doesn’t like the Bugatti Veyron, knowing he has such close ties to McLaren and the McLaren F1, however to call one of the greatest pieces of automotive engineering a “piece of junk” is a bit of a jealous rant, innit? I don’t think anyone can deny the abillity of the Veyron, no matter how much one doesn’t like it or doesn’t think it’s all it’s cracked up to be. However, the sort of comment Dennis gave is one that shows me he is simply frustrated and isn’t really thinking clearly when it comes to making a comment about the Bugatti. Nice one Ron, you sound like a 15 year-old kid at the parking lot with a rusty civic, who calls an M3 or an S4 “junk” because it’s not theirs….
IEDEI VERDICT? I think the Veyron would handily out-accelerate the McLaren F1 after speeds of 120 MPH…..whether the Top Gear test was ‘staged’ or not doesn’t affect my opinion….but the Veyron clearly has MUCH more power, great aerodynamics, and a proven top speed greater than the F1. NOBODY is going to deny that the Macca F1 was a great car, but it is not invincible. He also mentions the Veyron would get ‘bogged’ for launch after the clutch was dropped—-BUT THE VEYRON HAS NO CLUTCH! Fail. End of story.
STORY: http://www.wheels24.co.za/News/General_News/Veyron-Top-Gear-race-faked-20100412
got this Ford GT photo from http://parkedcars.tumblr.com/post/476321915/ford-gt-via-coolisacolor
I’ll be out of town to Chicago for a conference, AND I had some choices when it came down to what my rental car would be. I usually pick the smallest cars, as they are the most fun to throw around recklessly most economical, but this time I changed my initial selection. WHY? Because i’ve decided for the next 7 or 8 days, i am going to LIVE with a Ford Fusion Hybrid rental car…just to find out what it feels like to live with a hybrid car. This should be fascinating…i’m not sure what to expect.
I didn’t expect Hybrid rentals to be so cheap, however the Fusion Hybrid was less than the equivelant gas model….$180 for 7 days? pretty good deal, i reckon!
So even though IEDEI is away formally this week, i’m going to try to pop in and leave some short observations about the rental car at some point!
so aside from the severe obsession i’m starting to have for the standard Lancia Fulvia Coupe, another car which is EVEN rarer than the not-so-rare Fulvia Coupe is the Lancia Fulvia Zagato HF Competizione.
What i wouldn’t give to have this in my garage……the epitome of italian cool!! DO WANT…..really badly. *fantasizes*
(CLICK TO ENLARGE FULL HI-RES WALLPAPER) (it’s definitely my wallpaper today)
one of the most evil, rare, influential, and fascinating supercars ever….the DeTomaso Mangusta (1966-1971)
401 Mangustas were built, about 200 of the european version, with 4 headlamps and Ford 289 Cu.In. engine, and the rest are USA version, with 2 “pop up” headlamps and less powerful Ford 302 engines. One car was built with Chevrolet engine. There are reported to be fewer than 120 left in existence, according to the 2 available registry databases.
more information on the Mangusta: http://www.mangustainternational.com/home.php
oh how i love the Lamborghini Espada!
what could be better than one being chased by a pair of Gallardos!
foto credit: www.lambocars.com
well this guy should teach a class on stellar german classics….not the most exciting video, but lots of information for those interested in the birth of the modern fast sedan! One of the coolest BMWs ever, and definitely the coolest M5 ever made, the BMW E12 M535i.
I’ve been stuck in a bit of a Fulvia mood lately. It’s also the new wallpaper on my new cell phone.
I love this picture….and damn it i want one of these in my posession!
this one: Lancia Fulvia 1300 HF
listen to that V4! easily one of IEDEI’s top 5 dream cars……do want.
look at that road! it’s full of angry cliffs to fly off of…..those crazy italians…
Steve McQueen would have turned 80 today, if he was alive. So today’s foto of the day is a tribute to the man!