Lingenfelter makes an ass out of the 2010 Camaro.

Lingenfelter_455_Trans_Am_Camaro

For ages, Corvette fanboys have been singing the praises of Lingenfelter Vettes and how they can tear up supercars for breakfast, but obviously even Lingenfelter has grown so bored and tired of Corvettes that they have decided on new project.  They have turned to making tacky looking body kits for the new Chevy Camaro.  The car is now making 650+hp, up from the stock 430hp or so in the Camaro SS. But holy wow, it looks ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!  Advice to Lingenfelter; go back to working on Corvettes and stop trying to built body kids, because you suck at it!

lingenfelter_455_trans_am_camaro_concept

See the rest of the photos on the Car and Driver website:

http://www.caranddriver.com/news/car/09q4/lingenfelter_455_t_a_concept-auto_shows

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

 

Long before there was ever an Audi R8 or Audi TT, there were a series of interesting sports car concepts from Audi.  One of the most memorable was this 1991 Audi Quattro Spyder Concept. I still have no idea why they didn’t make it….it looked spectacularly cool.

1991_Audi_Quattro_Spyder_Concept_02

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

auctionwatch: Lancia Fulvia 1.3s

 

lanciafulvia

Ahhhhh, if I only had the $$$—-i’d be ALL OVER THIS!  A beautiful example of a 1973 Lancia Fulvia 1.3S and what the owner is calling the “Monte Carlo Edition”.

Check out the auction for more pictures and information

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=150384040959&viewitem=#ht_500wt_924

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

the world’s most extravagant garages.

 

crazy ……i wonder if those cars have their own bathtubs and massage therapists as well?

CLICK PHOTOS TO ENLARGE!

garage2

garage1

garage3

garage4

garage5

garage6

garage7

garage8

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Entry-level ‘new” Porsche 356? probable fail.

Based on a VW?? Sounds like another 914, to me….

porsche_356

Motor Authority seems to think it’s gonna happen, and they think it’ll be 356-ish….i think it’s all false.

http://www.motorauthority.com/blog/1037454_entry-level-porsche-roadster-rumors-hint-at-reborn-356

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

Saab 96. rally style.

saab_96

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

video: Alpine A310 mountain drive

IEDEI blog LOVES Alpine-Renaults, and the A110 and A310 especially.  Here’s a fantastic film of a bloke just driving his A310 through some great roads….

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

Maserati 250F.

(click 2 times to get hi-res version)

maserati_250F

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

art of the day.

“Red Hot” by Mark Spain

On display at the Park Gallery in South Glasgow, Scotland.

audi_tt_art_red_hot_by_mark_spain

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

stillborn bull: 1974 Lamborghini Bravo

lamborghini_bravo

This was due to be the replacement for the Lamborghini Urraco, however it was launched to the world as a concept in 1974 by Bertone, however the global economy was slumping, fuel costs were rising, and Ferrucio Lamborghini was retiring.  From what i’ve read, there is widespread reporting that this Bravo was tested heavily prior to its introduction (40,000+ miles), but unfortunately it never made it to production.  3.0L engine pumping 300hp through a small, relatively light body and short wheelbase.  Smaller, lower, and shorter than the Countach, it definitely ‘borrowed’ some ideas from the Countach.

It looks like Lamborghini would have definitely had an amazing rival to the Ferrari Dino, had they have made this…..

lamborghini_bravo_03

Word is, you can still see the car at the Bertone Museum in Turin, Italy.

1974 Lamborghini Bravo-a

lamborghini_bravo_2

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

BMW M3 (E92) Rollin’ thru LA

What a cool video.  Check it out!  Cheers to World Car Fans for the heads up.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

BMW 3.0 CSL and racing version…..so cool.

BMW_CSL_3.0

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

DTM racing from the late 80s.  Fantastic.

audi_dtm

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

porsche_snow

Tagged , , , , , ,

video: Group B Rally: Pure Sound.

No commentary or music in this video, just pure Group B exhausts! right on.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

supercar FAIL? Lexus LF-A

11-lexus-lfa-press

Who is gonna buy a  $200k+ Lexus?  I know most people who are shopping for a car with a $200k budget are certainly NOT going to.  So who is gonna buy it? The Japanese, probably…and maybe some arab and korean billionaires.  Who is gonna ditch a Lambo to buy this? or a GT3? or an F458 Italia?

Obviously, Lexus are making this car for image’s sake—however it certainly doesn’t have a classic shape in any way, in fact it reminds me (almost a little too much) of those awkward “sports cars’ they used to sell in the 80s and 90s—like the Dodge Stealth, Subaru SVX, and Nissan 300zx.  Cheesy, at best…

So congratulations Lexus, you’ve built one hell of an ugly supercar.  But what can it do?  Looks like pretty standard supercar stuff as you can read below.  Nothing a Porsche turbo can’t deal with…

LImited to 500 cars

560hp. 4.8L V10. 8500 rpm redline.

3265 pounds.

0-60 in 3.7 seconds. Top Speed 201 mph

Price: est. $200k

05-lexus-lfa-press

06-lexus-lfa-press

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Alfa 149 Milano. Finished product?

If it is, i love it…….here’s hoping it’s still coming to the US as planned…

alfa-149-milano-1

alfa-149-milano-2

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Weird and bizarre VWs in the chinese market…

Yeah, there are some oddities in the VW lineup when it comes to selling stuff in China. Most of all is the super weird MK2 Jetta, which is still a huuuuuge seller in the chinese market!  How the chinese keep buying it is beyond me.  It looks absolutely miserable.  The original MK2 was actually pretty damn good looking for the time—-the revised one, as you can see below…..is just……weird.

Jetta_China

Then comes another grand surprise! VW still sells a version of the Quantum (yes, the 1980s VW Quantum!) under the name Santana Vista. How does it look? Well, again…it looks completely terrible.  Archaic technology, only the chinese could love….

vw_quantum_santana_vista_china

Next there are two cars i have NO IDEA about.  One is called the VW Lavida….which looks almost like a Daewoo/Chevy/Kia and the other is just a bunch of chinese letters i cannot read.  These cars are probably being made in China or Korea, and selling under the guise of VW.  I can’t be arsed to really look up what they are….but it’s strange to see two VWs selling under the badge, while completely unknown outside the Chinese market.vw_lavida

chinese_VW

for more information on these, ahem, GLORIOUS chinese VWs, go to: www.vw.com/cn

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Giacomo Balla: “The Speeding Automobile”

From the Futurist art movement of Italy, early 1900s.  Superb. Futurism is my favourite art movements, full of amazing post-cubism modernity, but with a whole lotta attitude, and emphasis on the motorcar.

Balla_Speeding_Automobile_Futurism_IEDEI

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

foto of the day.

1937 Auto Union Type C Streamline, driven by ROSENMEYER

1937_Auto_Union_Type_C_Streamline_Rosenmeyer

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

hello killer. Lotus Exige Scura.

45000 Euros

Limited Edition: 35 cars

257hp

0-60: 4.1 seconds

TO BE UNVEILED AT THE TOKYO MOTOR SHOW

SINISTER.

(click on photos 2 times to get hi-res versions)

scura1

scura5

scura2

scura4

scura3

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,