new sunglasses.

I have a ‘bond’ with Dunhill sunglasses—i really enjoy all of their products.  I have broken my nose several times throughout my life, which causes most sunglasses to fit like a circle on a square.  Dunhills, however, fit quite well and since observing this, i have continued my cycle of buying their sunglasses.  This being said, i do have a pair of Persols which fit quite nicely; however those are my backup gangsta glasses I keep in the car.

I ordered these last week, and they came today—-with a lovely alcantara rimmed leather Dunhill carrying case.  Apologies for this ghetto photo, as i hate using flash, and that’s the only way i could capture the beautiful matte black finish of the frames.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

the USA-elusive TT quattro sport.

This is a tasty TT quattro sport on sale in the UK, tuned by Jabbasport; They’re claiming 450hp, which is quite a bit more than the 350hp that Stage 3 tuning takes it to quite predictably.  The quattro sport, was the highest end MK1 TT which was sold in Europe; stock it had a slight upgrade in power (240 vs. 225), upgraded suspension, special GT3-like seats, special wheels, special 2-tone paint schemes, different front bumper (3.2 bumper) and rear seat delete.  18,000 GBP for this 2005.  Tasty……and everso elusive here..

ad: http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/2487743.htm

Tagged , , , , , , ,

foto of the day. 904 collage.

a lovely collage from the excellent Carfreax site.  As usual, everything is better in black!

Tagged , , , ,

Ford GT70; Ford’s ‘lost’ A110 fighter…

Apparently, Ford had decided to fight back against the successes of rally cars in the late 60s and early 70s like the Porsche 911s and the Alpine A110 with their own small purpose-built rally car named the Ford GT70.

From OCTANE MAGAZINE:

‘The GT70’s creation had been triggered by our poor performance on the 1970 Monte Carlo Rally,’ Ford Competitions manager Stuart Turner says. ‘The Escort Twin-Cams, driven by Clark, Timo Makinen and Hannu Mikkola, at best finished fifth and seventh, and had been left behind by the winning Porsche 911S and Alpine-Renault A110.’”

Thanks to Jalopnik for turning attention this burning issue!

I believe the ‘yellow’ livery is in its current state; previously, the lone prototype was in silver finish:

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

art of the day. Birdcage.

Maserati Birdcage cutout drawing.

by Makato Ouchi


Tagged , , , ,

foto of the day. Jarama.

Lamborghini Jarama peeling out!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

when the snow hits….

this commercial defines my NYC winter.  superb! ……and the R8 is so f*cking cool.

Tagged , , , ,

cutout: 131 Abarth.

Fiat 131 Abarth cutout.

Tagged , , , , , ,

the ‘lost’ last AMC dealership.

I love mythical and mysterious stories about automobiles.  I found this one to be gloriously interesting and imaginative.  For many years, people outside of North Carolina had wondered if there was any truth to the ‘supposed’ existence of an AMC dealership in Pikeville, NC.  AMC, of course had been destroyed/shut down as a company in 1987 after being purchased by Chrysler, in an awful mess of 80s corporate destruction. Obviously the people in North Carolina knew the truth about whether the dealership exists or not, however people from outside had to go and find out for themselves…and this is what they had found:

IT IS STILL THERE! and it is functioning….well…sort of!

“If you’re an AMC fan, you would be in seventh heaven, surrounded by the remains that by my count exceeded more than 100 AMC cars. I could see that these cars, predominantly from the sixties and seventies–though often obscured by tall weeds–were for the most part intact. Others were in various states of disrepair, and some were in the later stages of decomposition.” (Rich Truesdell wrote this and more on the Automotive Traveler site)

More pictures I got from that Automotive Traveler post, along with additional searches:

As of February, 2011:

Read about the visit there:

http://www.automotivetraveler.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=578&Itemid=131

Tagged , , , , , , ,

question.

HOW in the world could Steve Mcqueen be  SO effortlessly cool?



Tagged , , , ,

foto of the day. Fulvia.

Lancia Fulvia in a VERY unusual colour! a colour I have never seen before on this car.  Does anyone know if this was a factory Lancia paintcode?  beautiful it is.

photographer:  edsel

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Pogea Racing A1.

the Audi A1 is another in the line of mythical Audi creations which will likely never hit the US shores; but that doesn’t stop me from lusting after one.  This one is a great colour, with dark wheels, and an aggressive lowered stance.  If you were to ask me to build an A1, i would want to build it like this—-possibly minus the wacky retro-y cloth interior though….am more a leather person myself.  Unfortunately Audi aren’t keen on bringing this generation A1 to this country; or it would DEFINITELY be in my garage as a city commuter.  156hp in a 2300+ pound body sounds damn good to me!

Found on:  Fourtitude

Tagged , , , , , ,

pre-quattro.

so quattro Audis are simply sensational in inclement weather….and DAMN fun to screw around with in the snow…—but how did Audis do before quattro in the snow?  How much fun is it to screw around in the snow in a pre-quattro audi? well these people are making a bit of a mess with this pretty decent example of an Audi 100LS.

EDIT: it seems you can only watch this on youtube due to some copyright issues.

Tagged , , , , , ,

230SL

Always had a soft spot for these; Mercedes-Benz 230SL “Pagoda”.

Photos taken from here:

Tagged , , , ,

foto of the day. XJC-12

how damn cool do yer look, when you show up to the trackday, and pull this badboy off the trailer!  A 70s Jaguar XJC-12 sedan…..special bodied coupes with a V12.

Tagged , , , ,

Gumpert Tornante.

i absolutely love this.  i still can’t figure out exactly why—-however there is something very ‘vintage’ and ‘futuristic’ about this design.  I even liked the vulgarity of their previous model (Gumpert Apollo)—-however i have to say that this one is not vulgar at all—-in fact it is stunningly cool.  I’m digging the rear taillights, the split window, the vintage pillars…epic cool.

Revealed at the Geneva Auto Show today/

Tagged , , , ,

proof my wife loves me…

Well today is my birthday and my wife ordered me exactly what i’ve been wanting! I’ve been trying to find this book for months now….but (A) it is damn expensive when i do find it ($250-$500), and (B) they were all in Europe so the shipping would be like $30 to get it here to New York City.  There are 2 versions of the book; one in french and one in german.  No english versions, i’m afraid.  It is an absolutely beautiful piece of literature…..as i do know how to read very rudimentary french (think disabled french child-level french), I can understand bits and pieces of the text, however it is the photography which really stands out in this book; SO MANY rare and never before seen photos of Alpines.

Through the last 4 or 5 years, I have collected thousands of rare Alpine A110 photos from the web, and collected them into my digital storage—-however I really wanted a beautiful book to keep which displayed vintage photos of my favourite car in the world—and this one does exactly that.  400+ pages and what seems like multiple photos per page; this is the holy grail of Alpine books!  And now it is mine!  I thank my wife for getting me this…..finally! I am enjoying it very much.

This was published in 1982 by E.P.A Publishing.  The author is Dominique Pascal and of course is out of print! In addition to the A110; It also covers the history of the Marque, as well as the A106, A108, A310, and prototypes for racing.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4C vs. Artega GT.

After the massive failure of this morning’s Alfa Romeo 4c debut in Geneva—–i was obsessed with the idea that this car has completely plagiarized the Artega GT.  Then i looked at the photos—–and was astounded by the similarities.  If this car is not an Artega GT, then Artega should sue the shit out of Alfa Romeo—–and Alfa Romeo should hang their heads in shame!

Let me be clear….i LOVE the Artega GT—it is truly one of my favourite sports cars on sale at the moment, and i am anxiously awaiting their arrival to the US—-but to see Alfa Romeo plagiarize a design so blatantly offends the side of me that loves Alfa Romeo (and yes, count me in the clans of Alfisti who have been waiting for Alfa to come back to this country)

Tagged , , , ,

Alfa Romeo copies a bunch of cars..calls it the 4C

Alfa Romeo have copied the Veyron. Alfa Romeo have copied an Artega GT.  Alfa Romeo have made a thicker Elise.  Alfa Romeo have copied the Seat Cupra GT Cup Car.  I am utterly offended by this car.  That is truly the first time I have said that about an Alfa in recent memory—-i even got excited when the Mito and the Giuletta were introduced; because at least they looked like an Alfa or had some originality.  This truly looks like a 3rd rate copy of an Artega GT…..F for effort.

(bottom photo from Autoblog)

Tagged , , , ,

Audi A3 Sedan (updated w/ video, new pic)

I absolutely love this….it’s smaller than a Jetta….and obviously smaller than an A4.  The engine is an RS3 engine, tweaked—on the concept.  In real life form, i’m guessing a small euro starting at 1.6 or 2.0L range going up to a 2.5T that’s in the TT-RS, RS3, and this concept.  On a brand new platform as well (NON-Golf). That interior is beautifully minimalist as well.  Nicely done, Ingolstadt.  It is definitely coming to the US. (thanks to Z.D. for the pics!)

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

upcoming. Alfa 4C and Spider

These are pretty shady ‘spy pics’ by Autoexpress—but i love sketchy looking pics.  The Alfa 4c is very weird looking—-part of me loves it, and part of me is reminded of the…errr…last Ford Probe.  HOWEVER,  it is supposed to be mid-engined (i’m not sure how true this is…), rwd, and going to be priced in Cayman territory.

I will not judge the design til the final photos……however it seems that the whole thing could go either way (favourable/unfavourable).  Supposedly this car will be released this week at the Geneva Auto Show—-and has tightly been kept under wraps for a while.

i should have known not to trust Autoxpress!!!!

Tagged , , , ,